Skip to content

Rugby Tournaments

The South American rugby tournaments are organized annually by the South American Rugby in rugby union (fifteen players) and seven (seven players).Thirteen teams affiliated with South America Rugby participate in the rugby union competition for older men. It has four levels: the maximum level called South America Rugby Cup; the second level called Major A; the third level called South American B or Major B, and the fourth level called Sudamericano C or C Mayor . 1 2 The four levels are connected by a system of ascents and descents. Since 2016 the South America Rugby Cup is the maximum title of the modality. 3 The maximum title has been obtained on all occasions by Argentina, with the exception of 1981, in which this country did not show up and won Uruguay. Since 2014, Argentina only competes at the highest level, facing the two teams that are best ranked in the Major A level. For all these tournaments, Argentina presents a second level team.

The rugby union competition of youth boys (12 countries), is organized in championships that are played in two levels ( Youth A and Youth B ), with a final match between the champion of the previous year and the team that came first in the Youth A, whose winner obtains the South American Rugby Cup Youth , maximum South American crown. 4 The highest title has been obtained on all occasions by Argentina, with the exception of 1980, when this country did not appear and won Uruguay.

The South American rugby competition 7 (Seven South American) is held in female mode (15 countries) and male model (7 countries), following the traditional format, of a first group stage, and a second elimination stage. Argentina won nine of the ten championships held until 2015 in the men’s modality, while Brazil won eleven of the twelve championships held until 2016, in the female mode. The women’s and men’s championships of Seven South American 2015, assured the winning teams a place in the Olympic Games.

Rugby Union Older Men

In 1951 a rugby championship was played between Argentina, Chile, Uruguay, and a team from Brazil to join the first Pan American Games. Seven years later ( 1958 ), the first championship itself was played in Chile. Between 1951 and 1998, Argentina, Uruguay, and Chile participated in all editions, while Brazil, Paraguay, and Peru did it in turn. All editions of that period were won by Argentina, with the exception of the 1981 tournament, of which this country did not participate and was won by Uruguay. In 2000, the Consumer Cup decided to divide the championship into two levels and dispute it annually, with a system of promotions and descents, disputed between the first of the top division and the last of the second division. As of 2001, new countries begin to join the championship in the “B” division: Colombia ( 2001 ), Venezuela ( 2005 ), and Costa Rica ( 2006 ).


With the entry of Costa Rica, the territorial scope of the Consur began to also extend to Central America.In 2012, the Consur created a third division (Major C), which Guatemala, Ecuador, and El Salvador joined that year, and in 2014, Panama.In 2014, the Consur established a new format for the first rugby union division, both for adults and youth. The tournament was divided into two stages, a first in which the selected teams from Brazil, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay met, which maintained the name of “Mayor A” and a second that took the name “Consur Cup”, in which I attended the champion of the last edition, Argentina, against the two top-ranked 2013, Uruguay and Chile, resulting champion tournament Sudamericano “a” champion team “Consur Cup.” 1 from 2016, due at the change of name of the federation, the Consur Cup began to be called South America Rugby Cup .

Rugby Union Youth Boys

In 1972, the first South American youth championship was held in Argentina, for children under 18 (M18). In 1999, the Consur decided to change the maximum age, becoming less than 19 years old (M19). In 2004 the South American tournaments began to define the classification for the Youth World Cup organized by the IRB also in the M19 category, which was held between that year and 2007.

As of 2008 and with the incorporation of new selections, the competition was divided into two divisions (A and B), similar to the division created in 2000 in the South American for the Elderly. From 2015 , also following the format of the senior competition, Division A began to play in two stages: a first stage without the champion of the previous year and a second final stage between the champion of the previous year and the winner of the first stage, for the South American crown, the South American Rugby Cup Youth .

In 2004 the Consur decided to organize the Seven South American Women annually and in 2006 the Seven South American Men, following the traditional format of dispute in two days, with the first stage by groups and a second eliminatory stage. As of 2015, the South American Seven serves as a qualifying tournament to obtain a place for the Olympic Games.